Portal To The Public Wins Enduring Achievement Award


Award recipients to be recognized during the annual summit.

May 11, 2021 – The Center for Advancing Research Impact in Society (ARIS) today announced three Broader Impacts (BI) Champions who have contributed significantly to establishing and advancing the broader impacts of scientific research.

2021 BI Champions:

· Alan Leshner, former Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

· Kei Koizumi, Chief of Staff, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

· Brooke Smith, Director of Public Engagement with Science, The Kavli Foundation

“This year’s class of BI Champions represent the past, present, and future of public engagement and are responsible for monumental strides in broader impacts. We look forward to honoring them during the annual Summit,” said Susan Renoe, Ph.D., PI and Executive Director, ARIS. During the May 11 awards ceremony at the Broader Impacts Summit, the BI Champions will be individually recognized for their work.

Several other awards will be presented during the event, including individuals who were not recognized in 2020 due to extenuating circumstances:

· Impact Goals Award

o 2020: Matt Wilkins, Galactic Polymath Education Studio

o 2021: Courtney Price, The Ohio State University;

Zachary Constan, Michigan State University


· Impact Innovations Award

o 2020: Center for Educational Networks and Impacts, Virginia Tech – Lisa McNair will receive the award on behalf of the Center of Educational

Networks and Impacts.

o 2021: Chelsie Boodoo, Michigan State University;

Daniel Puentes, Michigan State University;

Spectrum Discovery Area and SciNation on the Flathead

Reservation – Whisper-Camel Means will receive the award on

behalf of Spectrum Discovery Area and SciNation on the Flathead


· Enduring Achievement Award

o 2020: Portal to the Public, The Institute for Learning Innovation – Dennis Schatz will receive the award on behalf of Portal to the Public.

o 2021: USA National Phenology Network – Theresa Crimmins will receive the

award on behalf of the USA National Phenology Network.

The following individuals serve on the ARIS Awards Committee: Matthew Johnson, Chair, Penn State University; Elizabeth Ambos, former Executive Officer, Council on Undergraduate Research; Nathan Meier, University of Nebraska; Michael Jacobson, Binghamton University; John Saltmarsh, University of Massachusetts, Boston; and Laurie Van Egeren, Michigan State University.

About ARIS:

The Advancing Research Impacts in Society (ARIS) Center works with U.S. and international scientists and engagement practitioners to build capacity, advance scholarship, grow partnerships, and provide resources to help them engage with and demonstrate the impact of research in their communities and society. The ARIS Center emphasizes support for serving traditionally underserved populations while providing inclusive public engagement to ensure a diverse science workforce.

Founded in September 2018 after being awarded a $5.2 million grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF), ARIS has advisors, partners, research, and higher educational support from more than 25 leading organizations and from experts around the world.


Posted May 12, 2021